U.S. General Services Administration


Technology Solutions for

Your Mission Requirements: 8(a) STARS II


Introduction to 8(a) STARS II

8(a) STARS II is a multiple-award, indefinite- delivery/indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract engineered to provide cutting-edge technology solutions from award-winning 8(a) small businesses to federal agencies. Using 8(a) STARS II will enable you to access 8(a) firms through an established contract vehicle instead of traditional, open market methods – saving time and taxpayer money.

Contract Scope

The scope of the 8(a) STARS II Governmentwide Acquisition Contract (GWAC) is centered on four functional areas (FAs), derived from the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS).The contract offers simple to complex IT service solutions such as: IT help desk support, information assurance, cyber-security, virtualization, IPV6, Web 2.0,

and more.

The 8(a) STARS II GWAC is structured with two tiers, known as constellations.The constellation design is new to the 8(a) STARS II GWAC, and offers additional features and benefits. Constellation I includes prime contractors who are technically proficient and offer competitive pricing.

Constellation II prime contractors provide the same strengths as Constellation I, plus the added benefit of either a Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) Level II+

Services or Development credential, or an ISO 9001:2000 or 9001:2008 credential.

See the back of this publication for the features and benefits of using the 8(a) STARS II GWAC.


Prior to issuing orders under 8(a) STARS II, federal contracting officers are required to receive training

on the use of the 8(a) STARS II contract and be granted a written delegation of procurement authority from the GSA Small Business GWAC Center.Training is offered at no cost via:


One Country. One Mission. One Source.



Smarter Solutions



  • $10B program ceiling and five-year base period with one, five-year option

  • Allows for long term planning of large scale program requirements

  • Directed task orders up to $4M

  • Enhanced opportunities for 8(a) firms

  • Contract types include: fixed price, labor hour, and time and material terms

  • Offers flexibility of contract types to mitigate risk

  • Two constellations (tiers)

  • Offers access to a pool of contractors with additional industry credentials

  • Permits other direct costs when it is integral and necessary to the IT effort

  • Facilitates integrated IT solutions

  • Access to exceptionally qualified 8(a) small business industry partners

  • Enables federal clients to earn 8(a) small business credit

  • Pre-competed, easy-to-use contract with streamlined ordering procedures based on FAR 16.505

  • Saves time and money by reducing procurement lead time

  • Complimentary scope compatibility reviews

  • Promotes contract compliance and reduces risk of adverse audits

  • Compliance with Section 843 of the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) of 2008 and Section 863

of NDAA 2009

  • FAR 16.505 Fair Opportunity process supports best value awards

  • No protests on orders under $10M, except on the grounds that the order increases the scope, period, or maximum value of the GWAC

  • Minimizes protest risk and supports timely order award for optimal mission support


For more information about how the 8(a) STARS II GWAC can help your agency with information technology requirements, contactThe Small Business GWAC Center at (877) 327-8732,

e-mail, or visit

image image






FPO March 2011





Order publications at